- 2009 Decatur Open -

... ...

... ...

Last Updated: (08/25/2009)

Entry Form:

Click here for an entry form ( Now Available ! ).

18th annual Decatur Open, August 15, 2009. Aquadome Recreation Center, Decatur, AL
(See last year's results)

The tournament starts in: (days:hrs:mins:secs)


If you are entered but will not be able to play, please contact us (call Chip Patton or email me at crpatton at-sign hiwaay.net) so that we may let someone else play! (If you withdraw for cause by August 10th and we fill your spot you will receive a refund. Withdrawals after August 10 are on a case-by-case basis, please contact us!)

From Where: Players hail from 10 different states! (AL, FL, GA, IL, KY, LA, MS, TN, TX, VA)
Traveling the farthest: William Wickline and William Wickline II coming from Norfolk, VA are traveling 770 miles, slightly farther than Chance Friend, Danya Budiman and Bryan Simcox coming from Crowley and Keller, TX

You are visitor number : (since June 24); Please visit our sponsors' web sites and show your appreciation!

The Shirt: See this year's design! (Artwork by Here's Your Sign)

The Draw: The draw, showing who is playing in which round robin groups in the morning, will be printed in The Decatur Daily on Saturday, the morning of the tournament. Buy your copy!

*Ratings posted on USATT web site Aug. 7 will be used for the draw. We anticipate a few minor changes.

The Players:
(71 players are entered as of 8/12/2008 (We've had 5 withdrawals, replaced all of them, so far). Ratings were updated on 8/8!)
The field is limited to 71 players. This year the first 69 entries sold out on July 21 !!

The final two slots were auctioned on eBay and won by Bryan Simcox of Keller, Texas and Gilbert Baguinon of Fort Walton Beach, Florida. Congrats!
Both eBay winners will receive a door prize at the tournament.
Name City State Club USATT Rating *
Chance Friend (2008 finalist) Crowley TX Texas Wesleyan 2337
Kwaovi Didi DeSouza (2006 champion) Marietta GA Ben Hill 2312
TJ Beebe (1996 champion) Marietta GA AGTTA 2286
Arjun Shankaren (2007 champion) Louisville KY TTCL 2268
David Landry (2008 semifinalist) Huntsville AL NATTC 2122
Liedy Handoko (2008 quarterfinalist) Cordova TN Bluff City TTC 2088
Adam Brown (2008 quarterfinalist) Hoover AL Bumpernets 2078
Bryan Simcox Keller TX Texas Wesleyan 2049
Slawomir Waclawik (2007 finalist) Nashville TN NTTC 2033
Ujwal Shrestha (2008 quarterfinalist) Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 2030
Tommie Dailey Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 1980
Terry Hamilton Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 1946
Shelby Lane Collierville TN Bluff City TTC 1885
Bill Mobley Huntsville AL NATTC 1877
Wing Chan Madison AL NATTC 1874
Nguyen Tran Tuscaloosa AL UATTC 1874
Kin Chan Madison AL NATTC 1872
Danya Budiman Crowley TX Texas Wesleyan 1861
Jianrong (John) Wu Cordova TN Bluff City TTC 1856
Kui Zhang Vestavia Hills AL Magic City TTC 1820
Barnabas Gonzalez Vestavia Hills AL BumperNets 1816
Denis Fritchie Cordova TN Bluff City TTC 1788
David Budenstein Niceville FL Pensacola TTC 1773
Duke Stogner Hoover AL Bumpernets 1761
L.A. Johnston Pensacola FL Pensacola TTC 1760
Prakash Prasai Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 1747
Scott Lane Collierville TN Bluff City TTC 1740
Xiaofeng Guo Chattanooga TN Chattanooga 1738
Ashutosh Tamhane Hoover AL Magic City TTC 1732
Adrian Nuta Brentwood TN Newgy TTC 1721
Michael Harris Anniston AL NEATT 1714
Trevor Chan Madison AL NATTC 1707
Bob Bowlander Waco GA NEATT 1703
Reggie Wilson Memphis TN Bluff City TTC UR (~1700)
Harumi Sato Madison AL NATTC 1692
David Yu Navarre FL Pensacola TTC 1692
Roger Dickson Gallatin TN Newgy TTC 1682
Carl Lewis Sr. Memphis TN Bluff City TTC 1682
Chris Sharp Chicago IL TTCL 1673
Herb Bennett Hattiesburg MS USMTTC 1669
Andrew Strong Decatur AL NATTC 1663
Ed Watts Huntsville AL NATTC 1662
David Wilder Huntsville AL NATTC 1655
Li Hok Ming Madison AL NATTC 1627
David Girdner Hopkinsville KY Knoxville TTC 1562
Paul Holliger Louisville KY TTCL 1547
Gilbert Baguinon Fort Walton Beach FL PTTC 1534
Corey VanWagner Fairburn GA AGTTA 1499
Parker Robbins Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 1487
Alex Lehocky Smyrna TN Newgy TTC 1476
Anqing Xiongzou Decatur GA AGTTA 1466
William Wickline Norfolk VA Tidewater TTC 1454
William Foster Birmingham AL Bumpernets 1448
Jonas Boateng Huntsville AL NATTC 1415
Fred B. Mitchell II
Athens AL NATTC 1358
Jonathan Campbell New Orleans LA USMTTC 1343
Richard Cloyd Huntsville AL NATTC 1296
Tson Chan Madison AL NATTC 1262
Chris Chrestman Germantown TN Bluff City TTC 1260
Bill Sutton Montgomery AL NEATT 1228
Renee Chan Madison AL NATTC 1202
Gary Luther Anniston AL NEATT 1167
Jonathan Gonzalez Vestavia Hills AL BumperNets 1141
Donnie McGriff Wetumpka AL None 1115
Austin Sellers Germantown TN Bluff City TTC UR (~1050)
Brandon Angeles Milton FL PTTC 877
Sean Wang Birmingham AL Bumpernets 812
Celeste Fong Madison AL NATTC 774
Nathan Ng Hoover AL Bumpernets 694
Percy Wang Birmingham AL Bumpernets 580
William Wickline II Norfolk VA Tidewater TTC 541

... Awards and Engraving Plus ...

... ...

Click here for piano sale ...