- 2010 Decatur Open -

... ...

... ...

Last Updated: (08/20/2010)

See who won our tournament in the past by visiting our
Past Champions Page
(includes three former Olympians!)

Entry Form:

Click here for an entry form .

19th annual Decatur Open, August 21, 2010. Aquadome Recreation Center, Decatur, AL
(See last year's results)

The tournament starts in: (days:hrs:mins:secs)


We are now SOLD OUT!
If you are entered but will not be able to play, please contact us (call Chip Patton or email me at crpatton at-sign hiwaay.net) so that we may let someone else play! (If you withdraw for cause by August 16th and we fill your spot, you will receive a refund. Withdrawals after August 16 are on a case-by-case basis, please contact us!)
Reminder: Entries are non-transferable.

From Where: Players hail from 7 different states! (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS TN, TX)
Traveling the farthest: Danya Budiman, Stafford, TX (767 miles)

You are visitor number : (since June 24); Please visit our sponsors' web sites and show your appreciation!

The Shirt: See this year's design! (Artwork by Chris Chrestman)

The Draw: The draw, showing who is playing in which round robin groups in the morning, will be printed in The Decatur Daily on Saturday, the morning of the tournament. Buy your copy!

*Ratings posted on USATT web site Aug. 13 will be used for the draw. We have updated with a few minor changes.

The Players:
(71 players are entered as of 7/31/2010, 7 PM CDT. Ratings were updated on 8/16!)
The field is limited to 71 players. This year the first 69 entries sold out on Tuesday, July 20!!

The final two slots were auctioned on eBay: Here and also Here.
Both eBay winners (Liedy Handoko and Perry Smith) will receive a door prize at the tournament.
Name City State Club USATT Rating *
Chance Friend (2009 champion) Crowley TX Texas 2390
Bong Geun Kim (2005 finalist) Atlanta GA AGTTA 2352
John Mar (2008 quarterfinalist) Lawrenceville GA AGTTA 2231
Liedy Handoko (2009 semifinalist) Cordova TN Bluff City TTC 2116
Adam Brown (2009 quarterfinalist) Hoover AL Bumpernets 2089
Ujwal Shrestha (2009 quarterfinalist) Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 2032
Jason Denton (2007 semifinalist) Ardmore AL NATTC 2021
Donny Flowers (1993, 1995 champion) Germantown TN Bluff City TTC 2007
Shelby Lane (2009 quarterfinalist) Collierville TN Bluff City TTC 1987
L.A. Johnston Pensacola FL Pensacola TTC 1973
Slawomir Waclawik (2007 finalist) Nashville TN NTTC 1951
Terry Hamilton Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 1924
Tommie Dailey Birmingham AL Magic City TTC 1880
Wing Chan Madison AL NATTC 1876
Bill Mobley Huntsville AL NATTC 1855
Andrew Davis Pell City AL BumperNets 1854
Jianrong (John) Wu Cordova TN Bluff City TTC 1836
Ronald Peters Brewton AL LATTC 1835
Reginald Wilson Memphis TN Bluff City TTC 1835
Kareem Olugbenga Atlanta GA Atlanta 1834
Ashutosh Tamhane Hoover AL Magic City TTC 1834
David Yu Tallahassee FL Pensacola TTC 1832
Kui Zhang Vestavia Hills AL Magic City TTC 1801
Kin Chan Madison AL NATTC 1784
David Budenstein Niceville FL Pensacola TTC 1769
Xiaofeng Guo Chattanooga TN Chattanooga 1758
Danya Budiman Stafford TX Texas 1748
Denis Fritchie Cordova TN Bluff City TTC 1738
Trevor Chan Madison AL NATTC 1724
Scott Lane Collierville TN Bluff City TTC 1720
Michael Harris Anniston AL NEATT 1713
Alex Lehocky Smyrna TN Newgy TTC 1711
Ed Watts Huntsville AL NATTC 1707
Iliyan Arabov Alabaster AL BumperNets 1703
John Todd Jefferson LA Louisiana 1695
David Wilder Huntsville AL NATTC 1685
Sean Brown Montgomery AL Montgomery 1680
Roger Dickson Gallatin TN Newgy TTC 1662
Perry Smith Holly Springs MS Bluff City TTC 1662
Andrew Strong Decatur AL NATTC 1662
William Foster Birmingham AL BumperNets 1659
Bob Bowlander Waco GA NEATT 1645
Kyle Angeles Brewton AL LATTC 1604
Li Hok Ming Madison AL NATTC 1585
Yang Xiao Tuscaloosa AL UATTC 1549
Tson Chan Madison AL NATTC 1547
Spencer Friend Crowley TX Texas 1547
Rick Marcus Memphis TN Bluff City TTC 1424
Jonas Boateng Huntsville AL NATTC 1422
Harry He Birmingham AL BumperNets 1397
Christopher Hardin Cordova TN Bluff City TTC 1382
James Reinecke Houston TX Texas 1382
Ken Potts N. Richland Hills TX Texas 1370
Joe Piskulic Toney AL NATTC 1368
Renee Chan Madison AL NATTC 1334
Chris Chrestman Germantown TN Bluff City TTC 1324
Richard Cloyd Huntsville AL NATTC 1309
Todd Friend Crowley TX Texas 1303
Fred B. Mitchell II
Athens AL NATTC 1298
Bill Sutton Montgomery AL NEATT 1274
Collin Fullerton Huntsville AL NATTC 1220
Xin Hua Yin Hoover AL Magic City TTC 1185
Dongning He Hoover AL BCCTTC 1152
Gary Luther Anniston AL NEATT 1137
Xuejing Xing Huntsville AL NATTC 1100~ (UR)
John Cone Birmingham AL BumperNets 789
Yuan He Hoover AL BCCTTC 780
Celeste Fong Madison AL NATTC 774
Melea Anderson Carrolton GA NEATT 439
Shannon Bishop Decatur AL NATTC UR
Josh Crowson Jackson MS Mississippi UR

... Awards and Engraving Plus ...

... ...

Click here for pianos ...